August 28, 2016

Tomorrow starts the second year of grad school. I’m really excited about the nonprofit leadership and Children at Risk class. I  have read 3 of the 4 syllabi for my classes and the next 16 weeks will be full of reading, writing, working, and making sure Kenzie is learning along with all the other household chores of laundry, cooking, cleaning, shopping, and bills. I often ask myself why? Why put myself through more school and writing more papers. Then I realize it’s not about the degree. Sure, I will be able to say I have a masters degree after I’m done – but it’s more than that. Sometimes I wonder If i gave into societies status quo that I need a degree. The knowledge I have gained this last year, will remain with me forever and for that I am thankful for. It’s not about making lots of money. Its ALL about poverty alleviation and resisting injustices. It’s about growing in Christlikeness, sharing Jesus’ love with others, and giving all the glory to God.

I don’t see myself as a leader but that doesn’t mean God doesn’t see that in me. I would love to start a nonprofit and continue to work with Lufafa. Even thought it seems impossible, but with “God all things are possible (Matt. 19:26) He has been stretching me out of my comfort zone these last few months. I could have said no but I said yes. I said yes despite being uncomfortable, despite spending time on something I wouldn’t be paid to do. I still have no idea what God has planned for me but I am really learning how to trust in Jesus and his timing for things.  Even when I feel like I’m not good enough or can’t do it, Jesus is with me and He will not leave me or forsake me (Deut. 31:6). He will be there holding my hand.  I trust in Jesus. I pray that over this next year, my calling will become very clear.

Last week during service Pastor Bryan Fowler talked about knowing God’s specific calling on our lives, that we find that in community of other believers. He asked everyone three questions. I will put two of them here: 1. How clear am I in what God has called you to do?2. How confident am I in God’s present power to help me live out what He’s commissioned me to do?

God did not give me a “spirit of fear but of power, love, and of a sound mind” (2 Tim. 1:7).

I’m thankful for friends and family that support and encourage me.

Love,

Jazmen

Leave a Reply

